The Waterloo Community Foundation awarded $19,000 in scholarships through its 2022 scholarship program. Scholarships are offered annually for high school seniors attending a post-secondary institution in the fall and each has its own eligibility requirements. The Foundation works alongside various families and organizations to establish funds, determine eligibility requirements, and select recipients.

Waterloo Community Foundation Executive Director, Erin Tink, said, “Investing in the success of Waterloo students is a forward-thinking way to impact the future of our community. We are proud to offer scholarship funds to help donors support future generations of local learners and leaders as they pursue higher education goals”.

The Foundation appoints volunteer committees to review applications and select scholarship recipients. After careful consideration, the 2022 scholarship recipients include:

Hy-Vee Smiles Beyond the Aisles Scholarship ($1,000)

  • DeNay Saffold, East High School
  • Iqra Sarwar, West High School
  • Kalisa Weathersby, East High School

Todd Brekke Memorial Scholarship ($1,000)

  • Caleb Borwig, East High School

Liz Crowley Memorial Scholarship ($500)

  • Anna Anderson, West High School
  • Vaneia Gardner, West High School

Youth In Action Volunteerism Scholarship ($1,000)

  • Student name withheld by request, West High School

Aumer Scholarship ($500, renewable)

  • Landon Sturch, West High School

VGM Scholarship ($1,500)

  • Cooper Fort, Cedar Falls High School
  • Evangeline Miehe, West High School
  • Kaylee Winterscheidt, Janesville High School
  • Noah Boose, West High School
  • Ruby Chris, West High School

Professional Office Services, Inc. Scholarship ($1,000)

  • Benjamin Primus, Cold Spring, MN
  • Cara Strupp, Broomfield, CO
  • Connor Legendre, Winter Haven, FL
  • Eva Christensen, Columbus Catholic High School
  • Macy Dale, Lewisville, TX

More information about the scholarship program at the Waterloo Community Foundation can be found at