The Waterloo Community Foundation has elected officers for 2016. Officers include: Tim Hurley (President), Geof Grimes (Vice President), Joe Vich (Secretary), Dan Watters (Treasurer), and Mike Young (Past President).

Other board members include: Stacy Bentley, Theresa Hoffman, Wilfred Johnson, Jim Lind, Kent McCausland, Kathy McCoy, Jim Walsh, Dan Watters, and Rick Young.

New Board President Tim Hurley states that “Mike Young did a masterful job of leading the WCF board through the critical formative steps of getting organized and off the ground during the last year. I hope to build upon his accomplishments in the coming year. Our goals for this year will include completing all necessary procedural documents and by-laws; making significant progress towards full accreditation; building up our assets; and, making our first grants.”

Former President Mike Young states, “We’re very fortunate that Tim Hurley is willing to step up and lead this organization as it develops and grows for the benefit of our Waterloo community.  We’re also lucky to have Michelle Temeyer as Executive Director and a board that is committed to making this community a better place to live and work.  With this leadership team in place, the future is very bright for the Waterloo Community Foundation.”

2015 accomplishments include:

  • Receipt of 501©(3) tax exempt status from the Internal Revenue Service;
  • First official board meeting of 14-member board of directors. Officers were elected and committee assignments approved. Adoption of initial financial procedures. Board membership includes a strong Waterloo base of community-minded citizens that are passionate about our mission. Subsequent Board meetings held in August, September, October and December;
  • 2016 Slate of Officers elected on December 17;
  • Michelle Temeyer hired as part time Executive Director;
  • Membership status with Greater Cedar Valley Alliance and Chamber; Metro Funders, Cedar Valley Non-Profit Association and the Iowa Council of Foundations;
  • Initial collaborative meetings with the Cedar Falls Community Foundation that will result in establishment of a joint planned giving committee, keeping key community leaders well informed of our foundations, our operations and our goals & objectives;
  • 2016 operating budget approved which includes a moderate amount for grant-making; and 2015 FYE operating balance exceeded $125,000.00.

2016 accomplishments:

  • $4,000 was awarded to Mainstreet Waterloo for promotion of the Summer Olympics Program
  • The Foundation solicited grant applications and received 53 applications and will be announcing grant awards totaling $20,000 in late December.
  • In May, the Foundation opened an office on the 3rd floor of the US Bank building in downtown Waterloo, co-locating in the Junior Achievement of Eastern Iowa’s suite of offices
  • In November, we began receiving community-wide financial support through a mail campaign for continuing operational support
  • All original board members and committee members agreed to continue service in 2017
  • The Foundation continues to reach diverse audiences through numerous individual conversations, group presentations and media interactions.
  •  5 student scholars each received a $1,000 secondary educational award through the POS Scholarship program
  • Fiscal sponsorships have been executed with Koats4Kids and Waterloo Police Protective Association, with several others underway
  •  In partnership with the University of Northern Iowa, a student intern has gained philanthropic experience through a student internship

In partnership with the community, the Waterloo Community Foundation was founded in 2015 to provide for the long-term benefit of Waterloo citizens and work with donors that share the vision of a stronger Waterloo. During the past 6 months, the board of directors has been formed, committees established, and non-profit status attained. The Foundation is now accepting funds to meet donor interest and community needs. A general announcement of grant availability will be broadly distributed throughout the community.

Group presentations or additional information is available by contacting any board member or Executive Director Michelle Temeyer at 319.883.6022.